prayer meetings

3 05 2006

Last night I went to my church’s weekly prayer meeting, and I’m ashamed to admit it’s been quite a while since I’ve went to one.  I simply forgot how great they are.  Perhaps “great” isn’t the best word, because I don’t mean that the meeting itself was great.  There wasn’t any “entertainment” — no music, no singing, no speaking, no food.  It was just a group of people who wanted to spend some time with God.  And that was very refreshing.  I believe we should regularly have some time away from all the “helps” we typically employ in a church service and (for some of us) in our own personal time with God.

I initially went to the prayer meeting to intercede for the Church and the ministry we’re doing to reach our community, but I found that I greatly needed the refreshing which God blessed me with.  I didn’t realize how complacent I had become.  I had not turned my back on God, nor had I ignored praying or studying the Bible or ministry, but I realized that I didn’t have the same passion and desperation for God that I used to.  All I could do when I got there was repent and ask for grace & mercy, and God welcomed me into His presence like I hadn’t messed up.  He’s so good about that!  When we lay down our agenda (our life), then we can have pure fellowship with God, and there just aren’t words to describe how awesome that is.

I’m not saying that a person has to attend a prayer meeting to have this kind of fellowship with God, but it sure helps, because you’re setting aside all the other things in life just to spend some uninterrupted time with Jesus.  There were no distractions, just a few other people who also wanted to spend some time with Jesus and intercede for His will to be done in us and in our community.

How do we ever get to the point that we neglect prayer?  It’s the most important thing we do in life… it is vital to having a relationship with God, to finding your purpose in life, to having God’s power work in your life, etc.  Yet somehow we sometimes get too busy with everything to spend ample time in prayer.  The enemy knows the importance and power of prayer, so he wants to keep us from it however he can; he isn’t so concerned about us going to church and going through the motions, but when we pray, he gets scared (and defeated).  And so we must not forget the importance of prayer.  If we’re ever too busy to pray, we’re too busy…

Actions

Information

3 responses

3 05 2006
Fab

Now you’re just meddlin’. Get your preach on, brother!

3 05 2006
MzMobo

I love what you said about repenting and asking for grace and mercy. This seems to be the — maybe not forgotten — but seemingly disregarded first element in revival. I still remember the grief I felt when the altars were removed from our sanctuary years ago to make room for the “dance and manifestations” and the joy when they were brought back in. Without the altar we lose the reason to dance. If celebration comes before repentance, then what exactly are we celebrating?

We talk a lot about this in our Deeper Still Bible study. Two weeks ago I looked at the ladies and I told them they could mark it down and feel free to quote me…revival is coming with end-time intensity and it will begin in the pulpits. This statement only condemns the guilty and frees those who stand behind sanctified pulpits even though they are fewer and farther between. It is proven with both Isaiah (OT) and John (NT) just how man responds to the full revelation of God’s glory. We first realize what we are up against who He is, then He will cleanse us, stand us upright, and begin a work we cannot imagine. These men were not sinners, but called, Godly men. John had walked side-by-side with the Master.

As I began to cry out to God concerning the powerlessness of the church He took me into the prophets. The root of what we term revival can so easily be found there if one is only seeking. The requirement for sacrifice was never lifted…it was supplied. God hasn’t changed. Our regard for Him, His presence, and things sacred was never given the go-ahead to become lax. Continually through the prophets we hear the cry “return to me.” Our hearts must turn back to Him. When looking at the OT sacrifices, the best offering could be selected and the ordinance followed to the strictest degree, however, if the heart wasn’t in it, it was not acceptable. I think David says it best in Psalm 51:16-19. You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise. In your good pleasure make Zion prosper; build up the walls of Jerusalem. Then there will be righteous sacrifices, whole burnt offerings to delight you; then bulls will be offered on your altar.

How many people today claim to be under the blood of the perfect sacrifice of Jesus Christ yet their heart is far from God? This is a question to be pondered by every church-going professing “believer.” Will the sacrifice be accepted over my life? Where is my heart???

The best part is that just like in everything else He requires He also provides! In Jeremiah 24:7 He says, “I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the LORD. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.” This is only the beginning.

8 05 2006
Kri'

Wow… good post here, my brotha. And isn’t it cool that you had these fresh revelations right before our Pastor preached on intercession the very next weekend?! Coincedence? I think not…

I hope that this stirring in your heart and in others will spread to the rest of our church and other churches in this community. In our State. In our Country. In the world. And that truly, as MzMobo said, revival is coming with end-time intensity. So rather than being so concerned with our own agendas, we need to be consumed with His glory. Amen.

Leave a Reply

