Memorial Day

29 05 2006

One of my friends sent me an e-mail about Memorial Day, and I thought I’d share part of it, to help us remember the purpose of this holiday.  I know we all enjoy the day off from work, but I seldom hear people talk about actually remembering the sacrifice our country’s soldiers have made for our freedom.

Please allow me some time to turn our hearts and minds to the reason for the holiday on May 29th.

Monday is “Memorial Day”. Memorial Day is a solemn and sacred day that presents Americans the opportunity to honor the service and sacrifice of soldiers throughout our nation’s history. Originally called Decoration Day, this day was set aside to place flags on the graves of the Soldiers who died in the Civil War. Today we honor all members of our armed services who have died while serving our country.

All soldiers, civilians, families, and friends should unite in honor of our fallen comrades by participating in “The National Moment of Remembrance”. Take time on this Memorial Day at 3 p.m. wherever you are. Pause to reflect on, and show honor to, our nation’s heroes.

On that day, baseball games will stop, train whistles around the nation will blow, trumpets will blare and Americans throughout the country — wherever they are at 3 p.m. — will remember the sacrifices of those who died in service to our country.

I challenge each of you to renew your commitment to our nation and to the freedoms we all hold dear. The sacrifice of fallen heroes should not be in vain.

I imagine we all appreciate the freedom we enjoy in our country.  I know some people are vehemently against war, but without war we would not have this country nor this freedom.  And sometimes war is required to protect our freedom.  War is not a pretty thing, nor should we seek it for any selfish reasons, but sometimes it is required because there are people who want to destroy our country and our freedom.  And regardless of what you think about war, we should all be thankful that soldiers have given their lives so that we may live in freedom.

I know I take freedom for granted sometimes, like I figure most of us do.  But occasionally I hear how life is in other countries where they don’t have freedom of speech and religion like we do, and life is a lot harder when the government is oppressive and censors what you hear and say.  I’m very thankful that I get to live in a country with freedom.

Actions

Information

One response

1 09 2006
WaltDe

Very good reading. Peace until next time.
WaltDe

Leave a Reply

