cookies for breakfast

18 07 2006

This morning I had chocolate chip cookies and milk for breakfast.  Mmm…  Now, you may be asking yourself, “Why should I care to know this?”  Well, I figure the thought of it should be pleasant, for it is a very good thing.  Also, I have a few random thoughts on this, should you like to think about chocolate chip cookies some more.  🙂

The cookies and milk were so good that I thought I could eat this every day for breakfast and probably not get tired of it.  However, my reasoning reasoned I would eventually tire of it, but going by how good it felt, it didn’t seem possible to get tired of it.  So how do I resolve my wondering?  If you’re expecting an insightful discourse analyzing feelings and probability, you’re about to be disappointed.  🙂  I’m thinking I should just eat cookies every day to see if I ever do get tired of them.

The problem with my proposed “study” is that I’m trying to lose weight.  And eating cookies every day is not conducive to weight loss.  So I must choose which is more important.  It’s certainly more enjoyable to eat cookies than to eat healthy, but it would also be more enjoyable to be skinny rather than fat.  The key here is looking at the long-term view, because it’s so easy to say, “What will a couple of cookies hurt, just this time?”  And the answer is, “Not much.”  But the problem is when this decision is made day after day — all these little compromises add up to me being overweight.

This conflict in me reminds me of a quote I read on someone else’s blog a while back :

I don’t think I can talk Jen into installing a deep fat fryer in our kitchen.  That’d rock!  A short order grill.  I can sit home and make grilled cheese sandwiches, hash browns, French fries, and pancakes all day long.  Mmm.  The fat kid in my brain just got really excited.  The adult in my brain has to calm him down.  Which really is what “growing up” is all about — telling the kid in your brain to sit down and behave, while the grown-up in our brain says, “You know, it’d be more responsible of us if we did this instead…”  Stupid brain. ~ Jeff Schell

I can so relate to this!  I really enjoy eating; the thought of an all-you-can-eat buffet makes me excited.  And I really would like to have cookies & milk about every day for breakfast.  I used to be able to get away with this lifestyle, back when I had a metabolism.  But now that I’m “growing up”, my body has started “growing out”.  And so if I want to lose weight, I need to modify my eating habits, which is very difficult.  I have to tell the fat kid in my brain to settle down, that he won’t get his way all the time anymore.

It all comes down to discipline and desire.  What do I want the most?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

