the Bible on CD

13 08 2006

This week I’ve been listening to the Bible on MP3 CD in my truck while driving around town, and it’s been really helpful in keeping my mind focused.  (I know, that should be obvious, but how often do we do it?)  I was able to listen to all of Matthew, Mark, and Acts in just 5 days.  And my drive to work is only about 10 minutes each way.

The version I’m using is by Zondervan, and it’s the NIV dramatized version on MP3 CD.  Since it’s MP3, it only takes up 6 CDs for the entire Bible, which is really amazing.  (But you will need a receiver that supports it; otherwise you’ll want regular audio CDs.  Another option is using a portable digital player.)  I’m not going to write a review of it, per se, because I haven’t compared it with others, but I like it.  It helps to hear the different tone of voices of different people and to have some emotion added to it.  Sometimes when we’re reading we may read all verses in a calm, relaxed voice, but not all passages were spoken that way.  (Some of the religious leaders got quite upset with Jesus, as emphasized in Matthew and Acts.)

I think everyone should do this sometimes.  They aren’t that expensive to buy, and the fruit from hearing the Word is priceless.  And if you prefer KJV non-dramatized, you can download a couple of those for free (but you will have to burn your own CDs).  If you can’t spare the money for the version you want, ask for it for your birthday or Christmas present.

BTW, I’m not implying that we shouldn’t listen to music.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with music, as long as it’s good for you.  I think it’s great to play Christian music, because it can help you stay focused on God, and you can worship along with it, and it’s putting good thoughts in your mind.  I just wanted to let everyone know about the Bible on CD, because I don’t hear many people talking about it, yet it’s a great opportunity to hear more of the Word.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

