school shootings

3 10 2006

What’s going on?  Why are people going into schools and killing innocent children???  Just yesterday someone from Pennsylvania attacked children in an Amish school, and in the past week there were school shootings in Colorado and Wisconsin.  I don’t understand…  Some (if not all) of these people even knew they were going to die that day.  So even if they are depressed enough to take their own life, why are they taking the lives of innocent children?  I wish we knew…

Yesterday’s killer left a suicide note for his wife and three children, which provides some insight to his problems.  Here’s an excerpt from an article about it :

Pennsylvania state police released the first part of the suicide letter, which read, “I don’t know how you put up with me all those years. I am not worthy of you, you are the perfect wife you deserve so much better. We had so many good memories together as well as the tragedy with Elise. It changed my life forever I haven’t been the same since it affected me in a way I never felt possible. I am filled with so much hate, hate toward myself hate towards God and unimaginable emptyness it seems like everytime we do something fun I think about how Elise wasn’t here to share it with us and I go right back to anger.”

He also alluded to his wife another reason for his anger, Miller said, but said he “can’t discuss it with her and it happened 20 years ago.”

That shows how we must deal with bitterness and offense or it becomes a poison in our spirit.  This man was still dwelling on things from 20 years ago, hating himself and God.  It’s important that we forgive those who have wronged us.  That’s why Jesus emphasized it so much.  As John Bevere preaches, “Offense is the bait of satan”.  If we don’t work through our resentment and bitterness, it gets worse and worse until it turns into hate.  And that’s apparently what happened in the killer’s situation.  But I still don’t understand why he would attack innocent children, though…

I hope our society will try to find the real issues here.  We tend to blame inanimate objects, like video games, instead of looking at bigger influences like parents, family, friends, and society.  There’s also the issue of our society pushing God further away, which leads to bad behavior.  Some people say our society isn’t getting any worse, but I’ve talked with older people about how life was 40, 60, 80 years ago, and they usually say general morality and integrity were higher then.  (I can tell society is worse than it was in the ’80s, just by looking at what’s popular.)  Some people also say there isn’t a culture war, but it seems obvious to me.  It’s showing up in politics, where you have conservatives against liberals, and it’s mostly on moral and ethical issues.  (I realize other issues like finances get media coverage, but it seems like it’s usually one side saying the other side is incompetent.)  The divide between the sides seems to be growing, making it more difficult to find a middle ground (when necessary).  Our country needs to put aside our partisan agendas and differences to examine what’s happening to our country.  Things are getting worse, and if we don’t address the real issues, things will get even worse.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

