The Nativity Story

13 12 2006

Recently I went to see , and I thought it was really good.  Of course the story is good — it’s a portrayal of the birth of Jesus.  The acting was really good, and I didn’t have any complaints about how it was done.  Obviously they had to fill in some details that aren’t mentioned in the Bible, but they didn’t bother me.  I typically don’t watch a movie or show with the intention of being critical of it; I just watch it, enjoy it, and try to get something out of it.  So I’m not the one to ask about plot holes or bad acting or such things.  That said, I really enjoyed this movie, and I got a lot out of it, too.

The movie did a great job of showing how tough life probably was for Mary and Joseph during the time of her pregnancy.  When we read the story, sometimes we don’t think about all the time that passed between those verses and how everyday life was for them.  It was a disgrace for her to be pregnant before marriage, and it cast shame on both her family and his family, as well as on themselves.  How ironic that is, because they were both doing the right thing and were carrying the hope of mankind, yet society persecuted them in ignorance.  Another aspect that we tend to overlook when just reading or hearing the story is that Mary and Joseph had to travel over 100 miles to get from Nazareth to Bethlehem.  That’s a long, tough journey when walking or even when riding on a donkey.

King Herod was portrayed well, and the wise men were very believable and enjoyable.  I liked how Zechariah and Elizabeth were portrayed also.  Their story is really neat also.

I will get the movie on DVD when it comes out, because I want to see it many times.  It really inspired me to become a better man of God.  Sometimes life is tough and it may seem unfair, but God has a plan and He will help you.  I was moved by seeing how Mary and Joseph had to persevere through the persecution.  Sometimes we go through circumstances where we are incorrectly judged by our peers, even by our own family and friends.  Those times are very difficult and unfair, but God will be with you.

I highly recommend that you see this movie.  It was well done, it was clean, and it is an incredible story.  I encourage you to go see it in the theaters, if possible.  We influence Hollywood with how we spend our money, and by supporting the good, clean movies, we show that there is a market for it.  (Now if only we’d quit supporting the immoral movies, but that’s another story.)  I don’t think you’ll regret seeing this movie.  I just saw it a few days ago and I’m ready to see it again.

(You can see a trailer for the movie as well as some behind-the-scenes videos on the official website.)

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 12 2006
Beppo

On a technical note, I saw it at Rave Motion Pictures in Little Rock, AR, and it was on a “DLP-Digital Projection” screen, and the picture was incredibly clear. I didn’t notice any film artifacts (which tend to show up at the beginning, it seems). It was great to have such a clear picture. The sound at that theater is great, too.

Here’s an interesting bit of trivia concerning the film… The director was adamant that attention was paid to the sets and locations, to have an authentic look for that era. According to the website, “because the actual locations of Bethlehem and Nazareth have become fairly modernized over the years, the production decided to shoot in the village of Matera, Italy, which has been virtually unchanged for centuries (and was previously used as a location for The Passion of the Christ). Additionally, the production journeyed to Ouarzazate, Morocco, where it shot scenes involving Herod’s castle and the temple of Jerusalem at the same locations used in such films as Gladiator and Kingdom of Heaven.”

14 12 2006
Sambo

one thing I picked up when my wife and I went to see the movie was how very young Joseph and Mary were. I guess i have always thought of them as young adults, but they were just kids !!! What an awsome responsibility they had !!!!!! YES IT IS A VERY GOOD MOVIE !!

20 12 2006
Kri'

I still haven’t seen this movie! 😦

I hope to go this upcoming weekend (Christmas weekend!).

21 08 2007
retroman

I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of this movie, and found it to be really thought provoking and moving, for all the reasons already mentioned.

Leave a Reply

