sometimes it’s good to have to wait

15 01 2007

It’s now the coldest month of the year where I live, and that means my truck is even more cantankerous than normal.  (How’s that for a neat-sounding word?)  By that I mean that it is difficult to “wake up” when it is first started.  It’s only cold weather it doesn’t like, and it’s because it has a carburetor.  (It’s a 1986 Chevy Silverado.)  It always starts quickly (if you pump the gas pedal properly), but it’s sometimes difficult to keep running for the first minute or so.  Plus it needs to warm up for a few minutes, with the amount being proportional to the degree of coldness.  If you try to drive it before it’s warmed up, it might die on you and it’s very sluggish when accelerating.  So it’s best to let it warm up for a while.

Some of my friends don’t understand why I put up with this, when newer vehicles don’t have to warm up.  And I suppose that’s understandable, because some of them might have never driven a vehicle that’s not fuel-injected.  (That kinda makes me feel old.)  But there’s a good reason why I tolerate it, even though it is sometimes an inconvenience.  Let me explain…

Life these days seems extremely busy.  Even if my schedule is not overloaded, society sometimes gives the impression that there is so much going on and that there’s just not any free time.  This appears to be affecting almost everyone I know, even people who aren’t that busy.  To sum up my thoughts on this, I don’t like it.  I’m not saying I want to be lazy or unproductive (although at times I can be lazy, I’ll admit), but I want to have time to reflect on life and converse with God.  While I want to maximize my time so I’ll be productive and accomplish a lot, I don’t want to be so busy and hectic that I’m not enjoying life or learning along the way.  I’ve seen a lot of people get stuck in a rut, where each day is a lot like the others and life becomes mundane and routine.  How all this ties into my truck warming up is that I’m forced to slow down for a few minutes several times a day.

While my truck is warming up, I often pray, especially first thing in the morning.  Sometimes I just think on various things, reflecting on what’s been happening or thinking through something I want to write soon.  Sometimes I’ll worship God along with a CD.  Sometimes I listen to the Bible on MP3 CD.  Whatever I’m doing, I’m taking a break from the busyness of life.  It’s refreshing to slow down and “taste” life every so often.  I don’t want my life to be so routine that I’m just going through the motions.  I want each day to be vibrant and full of life.  I want to take time to let my mind be creative and explore new thoughts.  I want to spend more time with God, to talk about life and to hear what’s on His mind.

I know all this can be accomplished with a modern vehicle that is instantly ready to go.  It’s a mindset that has to be chosen.  But being forced to stop for a few minutes is a good reminder for me to “stop and smell the roses”.  There’s numerous things I like about my truck, but even its biggest drawback has turned out to be a blessing in disguise.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 01 2007
Sambo

I have a 2005 chevy silverado. On the coldest day i just open the door (don’t get in) start truck, shut door and go back in house where my warm big-man leather recliner is with my hot cup of coffee with french vanilla creamer, and RELAX- I will stop and smell roses this summer when it is warm !!!!!!!!!

17 01 2007
Mango-Man

I totally agree Beppo! good for you! just a friendly tip… open the garage door while you’re ‘smelling the roses’ that way you don’t get too…uhh… exhausted? I’m glad you could take your “trucks biggest drawback” and make into a possitive… Like the saying goes… If you drive a lemon make lemonade…or something (just kidding) In all seriousness we could all use a reminder of the importance of slowing down and reflecting on what really matters.

Leave a Reply

