Is it ever good to be misjudged?

28 02 2007

In yesterday’s post I mentioned some problems at work, which got really bad last Thursday.  That was probably the worst day I’ve had at work, in my almost 10 years here.  The day after that happened, I mentioned it to one of my friends via e-mail, and I decided to quickly find a relevant quote to append to my e-mail.  I haven’t been doing this too much lately because I’ve been so busy, but I used to always include a “quote of the day” in my e-mail signature.  (I can no longer do that on business correspondence, because someone got offended at a religious quote and complained.)

I did a search in my quotes file for “judged”, looking to find something about being misjudged, and the first one that came up was by Thomas à Kempis, from the book “The Imitation of Christ”.  When I saw his name, I knew it would be a great quote and that it would step on my toes in all its helpfulness.  🙂  And I was right.  Check it out :

It is good for us to have trials and troubles at times, for they often remind us that we are on probation and ought not to hope in any worldly thing.  It is good for us sometimes to suffer contradiction, to be misjudged by men even though we do well and mean well.  These things help us to be humble and shield us from vainglory.  When to all outward appearances men give us no credit, when they do not think well of us, then we are more inclined to seek God Who sees our hearts.  Therefore, a man ought to root himself so firmly in God that he will not need the consolations of men. ~ Thomas à Kempis, “The Imitation of Christ”

That’s a tough word!  He makes a great point, although I didn’t like hearing it, especially after I had just been misjudged at work the day before.  And he is right — going through that did make me seek God more.  I shouldn’t seek to derive my purpose and fulfillment and “self-worth” from work or people, but from God.

So even though I really don’t like going through this bad situation, it’s making me grow closer to God.  Like the Bible says, God is working it out for good when I seek Him.  (See Romans 8:28.)  It’s not the easiest path through life, but if it makes me know God more and become more like Jesus, then I’m for it, even if it’s difficult and not fun to go through.

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 02 2007
closer

I needed to “hear” that quote. Even though I try not to, I do seek other peoples’ approval, instead of fully focusing on what God thinks of me. Growing up, I didn’t have any positive feedback from my parents, so I guess that now that I’m grown, I seek validation from people. Thanks for the good word Beppo.

2 03 2007
Kri'

It’s human nature to want to hear good things about ourselves from other people; that’s why we need to crucify that nature and take on Christ’s nature.

Leave a Reply

