Do you wish you could do more for God?

4 04 2007

Have you ever said you’d give more to God (through the Church) if you could?  I’ve heard several people say they’d give a lot of money if they were ever rich.  Hopefully they mean it.  A test of their sincerity is if they’re giving now.  If you won’t give now, you probably won’t give when you have more money.

God doesn’t look at how much we give but rather how sacrificially we give.  (See Mark 12:41-44.)  That shows what is in our heart.  Also, we are all called to tithe to the Church and to give to those in need.

A point I want to make is that we can do more than we suspect.  I came across an article recently from someone whose goal is to give one million dollars to God in his lifetime.  He had just gotten married, and their household income at the time was $17,000, and they had $20,000 in college debt.  So his goal was very ambitious!  Yet it’s possible, and he’s making progress on it.

It makes me wonder how much more I could do.  I know I could do more than I am now — and not just in giving of my finances but also in ministry.  I like his idea of having a goal.  We tend to get more done when we are working toward something in particular.

We don’t need to get in the mindset of, “If I just had more money/talent/time, I’d do more for God.”  We will be held accountable based on what we were given.  Even if our known gifts at this time may not seem like a lot compared to some people, we would be surprised at how much we could accomplish if we disciplined ourselves to work diligently on certain priorities.  Don’t limit your dreams.  Even if your goals are huge and seemingly unreachable, God gives grace to empower us to accomplish what we should be doing.

And if your goals aren’t large, start dreaming and praying…  Make them God-sized…

Actions

Information

One response

6 04 2007
Beppo’s Blog » Blog Archive » an example of making a difference where you are

[…] This week I have been thinking about how we should do more for God with what we have, rather than saying we’d do more if we had more money, talent, or time.  Then last night one of my friends shared a story of how God told his wife to be a blessing to a man they didn’t know at the restaurant they were at.  It’s one of those stories that is inspiring, that makes me want to do more for God and to listen more closely for His voice.  I asked my friend to write out the story so I could post it here.  I think you’ll be blessed by it. My wife and I were eating last night at a local BBQ restaurant.  We had finished eating our meal and had already paid.  As I was preparing to leave, my wife leaned over to me and said, “I think I’m supposed to buy that man’s dinner, but I’m not sure.”  I glanced back over my shoulder and saw a man in his mid to late 60s wearing a veteran’s cap, sitting alone at a booth by the door.  I told my wife, “Then let’s do it”.  She responded, “But I’m not sure… I don’t want to offend him or anything.”  So I said, “Well… we can pray about it and do it next time.”  She sat there a moment and then said, “No… I definitely need to buy his dinner.” […]

Leave a Reply

