taking a few minutes to relax

23 04 2007

Life can become so busy, and, while it’s good to be busy if it’s productive, sometimes we need to slow down and enjoy life.  This is also known by the proverbial phrase “stop and smell the roses”.

During my lunch break today, I went out on my back porch with a good book to enjoy the spring weather.  It felt perfect outside — temperature in the mid-70s, cloudy, with a slight breeze.  It was so nice to put work out of my mind for a few minutes and not worry about all the things on my to-do list.  It was very relaxing.  I need to do that more often…

I also enjoy going outside to pray.  I have an open field behind my house, so it’s great for this, although I’ve done this in the middle of town also.  It’s refreshing to breathe fresh air, see the trees, hear the birds sing, look at the clouds, etc.  To me, it’s easier to meet with God when surrounded by nature.  It’s also helpful to get away from the distractions of everyday life.

It seems like society tries to make us so busy that we don’t have time for God or time to relax.  I want to be busy, with the right things.  But I refuse to get caught-up in the high-stress atmosphere that has engulfed many people these days.  We’re supposed to take time to relax and reflect on the goodness of God.  (That is why the Sabbath was created, after all.)

Actions

Information

One response

23 04 2007
Kri'

Amen… now, if I can just get me one of those covered back porches with a field in the back, I’ll be set…

Leave a Reply

