Should I compare myself to Jesus?

25 10 2007

While I’m at this crossroads in my career, wondering what I will next be doing, I’ve been thinking about how much I’ve accomplished with my life and how much I should be accomplishing.  I’m currently 33 years old (although I don’t feel that old, but that’s what the math says), so I’ve had quite a few years on this earth already.  I also think about how Jesus’ ministry on earth was for 33 years.  Jesus accomplished a lot.  I’ve bore some fruit for the Kingdom of God and I’m involved in several different ministries, but I’m nowhere near the standard that Jesus set.  And Jesus said we can be doing greater works than He did.  (Look in John 14:12; He really said it.)

Comparing my life to Jesus may seem like an unfair standard, but isn’t He supposed to be our standard?  He is the epitome of Christian living.  God has empowered us to live like that, via the Holy Spirit.  It’s all throughout the Bible, that ordinary men did great things because they believed God.  And God has not changed.  There are people today through whom God is doing miraculous things, accomplishing more than is humanly possible.  So why should I not expect the same?  God does not show partiality among men.

So why am I not doing more for the Kingdom of God?  I could make a number of excuses, but none of them are really valid.  If I blame any particular circumstances for keeping me from doing what God has called me to do, then I am basically saying that God’s power is not sufficient for me to overcome it.  And that would be foolish to say.  For we know that with God all things are possible and His power is greater than any obstacle we may face.  So the real answer to my question is not something that I want to think about, but if I’m going to move on to greater things, I have to address it and move past it.

Fortunately, God is gracious and patient with us, despite our shortcomings.  He still loves us just as much regardless of how much we do (because He loves us unconditionally).  But how faithful we are to His calling represents how much we love Him.  Jesus said if we love Him, we will keep His commandments (which includes the Great Commission, living holy, and doing what He has called you to do).  And that makes sense.  Because I love Him, I want to please Him and do things for Him.  And He certainly deserves the best I can give Him (and then some).

While I may look at the past and wish I had done more at certain times, that’s all behind me now.  All I can do about it is repent for the times that I didn’t do all that I should’ve.  Now, my responsibility is to do the best that I can.  But yet there’s more.  🙂  Sometimes I have done the best that I can, but that’s not all I was supposed to do.  I need to raise my expectations and trust God to do miraculous things through me.  God wants to work through each of us and do some awesome works that are greater than we can even imagine.

I hope this challenges you to dream outside of the box.  Or better yet, let God dream for you.  Too many Christians have set the bar so low in how we live and what we expect from God.  At times I’ve been one of them.  But I don’t want to be like that.  I’m trying to get beyond what’s “normal” in Christianity in America these days.  I’ve had people tell me I was doing such a great job in ministry and that I’m so faithful, but I feel like I’m barely scratching the surface of what God wants to do in my life.  And this concept doesn’t apply to only me, but to everyone.  God has such big plans for our lives, bigger than we can imagine, but most of us live way below where God wants us to be.  I encourage you to consider the life of Jesus and other great men of God, and pray about what God wants to do through you.  Don’t be afraid to challenge the status quo of “normal” life.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 10 2007
Justin Jordan

Something is very strange here…It seems everywhere that Christians are going through this same “transition”. I am also out of work, and God gave me the idea for a small business. It hasn’t taken off yet, but I have been assured that it will through prophesies. I have to admit, I’m a little scared because my rent is going to be due coming up here shortly, and I don’t know where it’s coming from?

My friend lost her job also, and she’s being evicted now. I’m still trying to figure out how God gets the glory in all of this, but I’m trusting in Him that He has a plan. I can’t even imagine losing my home, but if God needs me somewhere else, I’ll go.

Lately, I haven’t really felt like I’m doing my part in the “great commission”, except through my blog. Sometimes I feel like I DO need to give up everything, and catch a boat to some 3rd world country to spread the gospel. The truth is, I’m not even doing that much where I’m at. Whoa! God is doing something right now.

One question? How do I do God’s work, when I might not be able to pay my bills? How do I separate the stress of that, from what really matters?

Any thoughts are welcome here. By the way, I’m adding you to my blogroll:)

27 10 2007
sambo

My earthly father taught me that i was the man of the house and it was my resposnibility to make the living for my family.. I learned that lesson well… But my heavenly FATHER said i must TRUST HIM. Sometimes we have to go through a lot to get to the place where we can TRULY TRUST OUR HEAVENLY FATHER — Some one once said ” YOU WILL NEVER KNOW THAT GOD IS ALL U NEED UNTIL GOD IS ALL U GOT —–THEN –AND ONLY THEN — WILL U KNOW FOR SURE THAT GOD REALLY IS ALL U NEED !!! Sometimes HE will put us through a real test and let the situation get to the point that HE is our only hope– That is when HE can work HIS best in our lives !!!!

30 10 2007
Justin Jordan

To Sambo,

That’s funny, the pastor at my church taught on something similar to what you are talking about on Sunday.

I do believe this is pruning time (John 15), and that God is getting a lot of people to the point where they say, “Oh my God…I need you”. In other words, what you were talking about Sambo.

Leave a Reply

