my problem with the Blockbuster store in Conway, AR

5 12 2007

I have a free video game rental from Blockbuster, via Coke rewards points.  However, the Blockbuster in Conway, Arkansas, will not accept it.  They will accept the same type of coupon for movies (supposedly), but not for games, even though they look about the same and come from the same place.  (The employee I spoke to even mentioned this.)

I suppose they have the right, because the coupon says “at participating locations”.  But this isn’t the first problem I’ve heard of with our local Blockbuster.  From what I’ve heard, apparently it’s not a real Blockbuster.  Sure, it’s got the name and logo, but it’s different (locally-owned?) and often does not participate in official Blockbuster promotions.  What’s up with that?  Why would the owners of Blockbuster allow stores that look like they’re part of the chain but aren’t really?

Anyway, it’s not too big of a deal, because it’s just one free rental, but it’s my blog and I can rant if I want to.  🙂

Actions

Information

One response

6 12 2007
Not a Blockbuster Employee

I have also had extensive problems with the Conway Blockbuster store. The problem stems from the fact that it is not a Blockbuster Corporate store, just an affiliate store that licensed the right to use the name. It is operated by Flicks Managment Co., out of Memphis.

And the game selection they offer can be summed up in one word: atrocious. I have literally been to a small video rental store in a rural Oklahoma town of less than 2,000 people that had double the game selection of the this store (Conway is what, 50,000+?) Did you actually find a game there you wanted to rent? That in itself is quite the accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

