the world’s most expensive coffee

5 01 2008

Have you heard about the world’s most expensive coffee?  This is a unique story.  It’s called (or Civet coffee), and it’s from Indonesia and the Philippines.  It sells for between $120 and $600 per pound.  One restaurant in Australia sells it for $50 per cup.  It’s sold mainly in Japan and the United States.

Now why would I make a big deal about coffee?  I don’t even drink coffee.  For one, it seems wasteful to pay that much for coffee when there’s needy people in the world.  But there’s something special about this type of coffee, which makes it even more strange that people pay so much for it.

The coffee is made from certain coffee berries which have been eaten and passed through the digestive tract of the Asian Palm Civet, which is an animal similar to a cat or a raccoon or a weasel.  Yes, you read that right — the berries have been defecated by the animal.  So people actually go through the trouble of collecting the feces of this animal, cleaning it up, and processing the berries.  Supposedly the enzymes in the stomach of the civet add to the coffee’s flavor by breaking down some proteins that give coffee its bitter taste.  (I’m thinking it might taste more bitter because of the circumstances.)  But the berries are washed, then given “only a light roast so as to not destroy the complex flavors that develop through the process”.  (Uhh, what exactly are those “complex flavors” composed of?)

If you want to see a picture of how these berries look when they are collected, follow this link.  (Doesn’t it look like something you’d want to brew coffee with?)

I haven’t tried it (and I’m not going to) so I can’t comment on how it tastes.  But I can’t believe people buy this after what it’s been through, nor can I believe people pay so much for this.  How can someone spend so much on coffee when they could buy a much less expensive variety (that probably tastes as good or better) and give some money to the poor?  This is an example of the wealth distribution problem in the world.  I don’t have a problem with people getting rich, but ideally those people would have compassion on those less fortunate and donate money to help them get back on their feet.  There are so many millions of people in the world who don’t even have clean running water or enough food to eat each day, yet excess money is spent on stuff like this.  But, it’s their choice, and they have that right to spend their money however they want.  But one day we will all stand before God to give account of our stewardship, and I wouldn’t want to tell Him that I didn’t help the poor much because I spent money on things like coffee made from poop.

Actions

Information

10 responses

7 01 2008
Kri'

Ha! That last line was classic! It was eternally serious, yet rather humorous at the same time. Nice…

As far as the coffee goes – I am rather fond of coffee and enjoy trying new brands & varieties… but this goes WAY too far. Not only is it ridiculously expensive (I have a hard time paying $3.50 for a specialty coffee at Starbucks), but the origins of this bean?! You have got to be kidding me…

7 01 2008
Justin

This was the most original blog post ever! You managed to be morally correct while still using the word poop. God Bless you!

8 01 2008
Beppo

Thanks for the compliments! It’s encouraging to hear that someone enjoys reading my ramblings. 🙂

It’s good to know I can use the word poop yet still be taken seriously. 🙂 I’ll have to keep developing my talents…

8 01 2008
Not a Starbucks Employee

I’m curious as to how that coffee was first discovered. I’m imagining someone making a pot of ‘special’ coffee for someone they despise.

Guy 1: Hey, how’s that coffe I made you taste? Like….crap??? HAHAHAHAHA!!!
Guy 2: This is the best coffee I’ve ever had!
Guy 1: ?????

8 01 2008
Ricky

I just have to add my 2 cents… that’s just crazy! I can’t imagine someone trekking through the woods and finding a pile of animal feces & saying “gee… I think i’ll make some coffee out of that!”
nuts… check out this quote about kopi Luwak I found on another web site where they are promoting it…

“It has earthy tones of natural processed Sumatra Mandheling. It has low acidity with a syrupy body. There’s something else there, a nuance in the flavor profile that I can’t describe, and when I’ve challanged others, no one else can either. It’s almost alien, a tiny little flavor note, highly exotic.”

yeah… there’s SOMETHING else there alright… and it’s spelled p.o.o.p.! 🙂

9 01 2008
Fab

This is indeed sick. But, why stop there? An enterprising coffee roaster could have “designer” pooped coffees. Let me explain.

Roasters could hire celebrities to swallow hands full of whole coffee beans, like they would a pill or something, just one or two at a time. And as we know, what comes in must come out. They could have the famous people “do their business” on a special collector toilet and market the finished product with that celebrity’s name on it. Why doesn’t someone make this happen? I can see it now: “Leonardo’s DiCrapuccino”, or some other outrageous blend.

9 01 2008
coffee made from poop « Buffet o’ Blog

[…] coffee made from poop I saw an article over at Beppo’s Blog about the world’s most expensive coffee, and it’s a story that is most definitely random and stupid (yet true).  This coffee is called Kopi Luwak (or Civet coffee), and it is made from coffee berries that have been eaten and pooped by a weasel-like animal.  Yeah, you heard that right — the animal eats the coffee berries, digests them, defecates them, and then someone collects the feces, and they make coffee from it. […]

11 01 2008
Kri'

“Leonardo’s DiCrapuccino” ROFLOL!!! Too funny, Fab!

16 07 2008
Troy

Hi Beppo

Thanks for linking to my site although a little research before you post may lend you credibility. I have a profit distribution agreement with my staff and most earn more in a month for me than they did in 12 months with their previous employers.

There’s little point in appearing morally correct if you’re just making things up.

16 07 2008
Beppo

Troy, I wasn’t directing any statement toward your company or how you distribute your profits. Sorry for any confusion on that.

I was just wondering how consumers can justify spending that much on coffee when there’s other more important needs, like people in third-world countries who don’t have enough to eat and don’t have a way out of their situation. But, the rich have the freedom to do what they want with their money, and it’s not my place to judge. But we will all stand before God someday, and to Him we will give an account of our financial stewardship (along with all of our life).

Leave a Reply

