life more abundantly

25 01 2008

In John 10:10, Jesus said, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”  Have you ever thought about what that means?

The modern church tends to equate abundant life with prosperity and material blessings.  But Jesus said, “Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.”  There’s nothing wrong with prosperity (and it is Scriptural), but it must be taken in context and not twisted to mean we should all be rich in earthly things.  Some say (or imply) that it’s an easy life, though that’s not Scriptural.

Some people equate financial prosperity with God’s blessing and/or approval, but that’s not the case.  There are plenty of rich people who don’t honor God at all, and some poor people are very faithful and loving toward God.  Besides, there are a lot of blessings that are much better than having an abundance of money and material things.  I’d much rather have the peace of God, His joy, anointing, discernment, wisdom, purpose, a loving family, a great home church, friends who really care about me, etc.  Money doesn’t give you lasting joy or peace.

Back to the topic of life more abundantly…  I looked up the Greek word for “abundantly” in John 10:10, and it said : superabundant (in quantity) or superior (in quality); by implication, excessive; exceeding abundantly above, more abundantly, advantage, exceedingly, very highly, beyond measure, more, superfluous, vehemently.  I looked up the last two words in that just to get more clarification.  Superfluous means “being beyond what is required or sufficient”.  Vehemently means “intensity of emotion or conviction”.  Think about that for a while…

I also think of a few more Scriptures that go along with this.  Ephesians 3:14-21 says that God is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we can ask or think.  Have you ever thought about that?  I can dream of some big stuff, yet God can (and wants to) do even more than that!  I also think of John 14:12 where Jesus says we will do greater works than He did.  That in itself is just about above what I can ask or think, when applied to my life.  Yet it’s in the Word, and I believe it.  Do you believe it?  I realize it can be difficult to grasp, because we see our flaws and faults, but through the power of God, we can do greater works than Jesus did in this life.  That is incredible to ponder!

Can you live a life where you do greater works than Jesus did?  Yes, it’s possible.  But it takes more than just believing it will happen.  We must live a life of purity and holiness, and we must walk in the Spirit.  We must be devoted to God 100 percent, denying ourselves.  It’s not an easy road, which is why so few ever reach that level of maturity in Christ, but it is possible, and it is God’s will for you and I to get there.  The question is, are we willing to pay the cost?

Actions

Information

One response

26 01 2008
Justin

I like the points you made in this article, and I agree completely with what you are saying. I have noticed, and this is recently, how it is so easy to be wrapped up in the day that we forget about doing greater works than Jesus. I’m really seeking the Lord for help to walk in the Spirit at ALL times! I really think this is what separates the true followers from the lukewarm Christians. God is on my mind 100% of the time, and He has to be or I start to go right back to being apart of the world!

I’m also very needy of Him, so whenever I feel a little detached, I get scared and come running back through prayers and reading the Word. He really is holding my hand through this life, and I can’t imagine living a single day without Him! I know I got a little off topic, but this post has given me some things to think about!

Leave a Reply

