close to death

8 02 2008

That title sounds somewhat ominous, doesn’t it?  And it’s vague.  Who is close to death?  Me?  Someone I know?  You just don’t know, so it’s like a mystery.  🙂  But the point I want to make is that we may be close to death and not even realize it.

Everybody dies at some point.  We all know and accept that.  It’s inevitable.  But we don’t know when it will be.  I suspect most people get caught up in daily life and never think about it.  And for the most part, that’s probably good.  We don’t want to dwell on it, that’s for sure.  But I think it’s good to sometimes consider it, so we’ll be focused on eternity and not just on our routine day-to-day activities.

I also suspect most of us expect to live a long life.  Why would you expect otherwise?  But it’s not guaranteed.  There are people every day who die in automobile accidents, from crimes, from freak accidents, from weather disasters, and even from unexpected illnesses.  My point is that you never know.  It is possible that you will die tomorrow.  I hope not, but if it were to happen, are you ready to face God?  Have you been a good steward of your time and talents?  (That is, a good steward by His standards, not ours.)  Have you done what you are called to do with your talents and resources?

I know it’s uncomfortable to think about these things.  But I think it’s profitable.  In looking at my life, I can see some areas where I haven’t accomplished all that I should.  I want to do more for God before I stand in front of His throne and give an account of my life.  I’m sure I will make it to Heaven, but God deserves more than what I’ve given Him so far.  Of course, He deserves even more than I can possibly give, but all He asks is that I give my best.  Sadly, there have been times when I didn’t give my best.  I don’t like to admit that, but it’s true.  But the past is passed, and all I can do about it is repent for it and change my ways.

So are you making the most of each day, trying to accomplish what God wants you to do in this life?  Don’t keep putting things off until “tomorrow”, because we are not guaranteed tomorrow.  Make the most of each day, so when you stand before God, you won’t have regrets.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

