You don’t need air-conditioning

4 08 2008

At church this week, someone said they were very thankful for air-conditioning.  I agree completely.  It is such a blessing, especially right now, because it is crazymad hot outside — over 100 with humidity.  Right now, central Arkansas is in a stretch where it’s over 100 each day, with a heat index over 110.  Some days the temperature has reached 104 (115 heat index).

I’ve been thinking about how great it is to have air-conditioning.  I can’t imagine not having A/C in my home and vehicle right now.  But have you ever realized that air-conditioning is not a need?  It seems like one, but it’s not.

There are billions of people in the world who don’t have air-conditioning, and some of them live in hotter climates than I do.  Obviously they don’t need A/C in order to survive.  Thus A/C is a luxury item.  You could say having it is living in abundance, because it is more than we need.  So we should consider it a blessing and be thankful for it.

As I wrote in my last post (and I’m not sure why this theme keeps coming up), those of us in America tend to have an unbalanced view of needs vs wants and prosperity and blessing.  Living here, we tend to forget how rough much of the world has it, and so it’s easy to complain about how “bad” our circumstances sometimes are.  (That’s not to say things can’t get bad, but often we exaggerate how bad things really are.)

Anyway, my point in this is to remind you (and myself) to be thankful for all our blessings and to not take anything for granted.  I hear a lot of people who complain about how things are (and there’s a place to work for improvement), but we should be happy and content and thankful with what we have, even if it’s not always completely ideal.

I think of the Apostle Paul, who said:

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  (Philippians 4:12)

While I’m quoting Bible verses, let me show you another thing Paul said about being content.  (Besides, it’s better to read Scripture than my ramblings.)

But godliness with contentment is great gain.  For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it.  But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.  People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction.  For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil.  Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.  (1 Timothy 6:6-10)

I think one of the keys to being content is to not take things for granted.  Consider what you have that is above what you need to survive.  This helps us to be thankful for God’s provision and blessing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

