my review of the movie Fireproof

5 10 2008

I went to see the movie last night, and I have to say it’s AWESOME!  It’s a great story, it’s clean (family-friendly), and it’s laugh-out-loud funny at times, but the best part is that it makes you want to become a better person and improve your marriage.  So I encourage you to go see it, if at all possible.  It’s definitely worth it.

I thought about writing a review of the story, but I don’t want to spoil it for you.  Plus, there’s plenty of reviews online by people more qualified than me, if you’re wanting more details on it.  I will say I consider it one of the best movies of the year.  (I may not see a lot of movies, but I did see Iron Man and Batman: The Dark Knight.  In some ways, this movie surpasses them.)  It’s fine to see (clean) movies for entertainment, but when a movie is both entertaining and it makes you want to live a better life, that makes it awesome.

Also, I thought it was very well-done.  I’m not one to critique acting, but because it was low-budget I had hoped it wouldn’t look like they were acting, and I didn’t have any problems with it.  I thought the acting was realistic.  There was nothing in it that distracted me from the story.

Note that this movie may make you cry.  I normally despise the movies that intentionally tug at your heart-strings (so to speak), but this wasn’t one of those movies.  At times it is kinda sad, but it’s sad because you can somewhat relate to what they’re going through.  (Even if you have a good marriage, there’s still tough times and misunderstandings, and we can all do better.)  I think everyone will be able to relate to what the characters are going through, to some degree, even if you haven’t been close to divorce.

BTW, if you’re a man reading this and you’re thinking, “It’s not gonna make me cry”, then you’ve already got the wrong attitude toward it.  Don’t be afraid of getting in touch with your feelings.  If you’re always hardening your heart so you’ll be “tough” and “manly” and never cry at all, that will hurt your marriage and your walk with God.  (It’s still difficult to say such things, because I’m someone who once went a couple of years without ever crying, but God is showing me how we sometimes need to be broken, that it’s healthy for us.)  I could go on about this topic, but I’ll save that for another post…

One of my friends had this to say about the movie:

If you love your marriage, you should go see Fireproof this weekend, and if you hate your marriage, you should for sure go see Fireproof. ~ Jeff Watson

So I recommend this movie to everyone.  If you can, go see it in the theater, to support this type of movie.  Remember, we vote for what we want from Hollywood with our money.  If movies like this do well, more will be made.  Plus, beyond voting and making a statement, this movie will motivate you to become a better person.

Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2008
Justin

I saw this a couple weeks ago with Katie, her mom and dad, and my mom. It was such a good movie from the very beginning to the very end.

I would have cried more if I was by myself watching it, but I was trying not to look like such a baby. Although, Kirk Cameron was crying quite a bit too…so that made me feel better!

I think it is a movie that everyone can benefit from seeing.

Leave a Reply

