the fasted lifestyle

14 01 2009

Recently I was talking about fasting here on my blog, and today I’m going to continue that trend.  But this time I’m going to discuss a variation of it that some call the “fasted lifestyle”.  That is, giving up some of our excess in all areas of life.  In addition to spending less on food, you spend less on entertainment, you spend less on your home and cars, etc., so you can give more to the work of God.

I recently read an article about this, and I want to share a quote from it, which makes several good points:

Through attempting to live the fasted lifestyle, I realize how addicted I am to false sources of comfort and happiness.  In the words of C.S. Lewis, “We human beings are far too easily satisfied.”  My heart aches with longing for a thousand different things, not knowing its true longing is for God.  Deep down, I really want God, but I eat a Whopper and it makes me feel pretty good, or I watch a funny movie and the ache in my soul goes away for a couple hours.  Many people spend their lives living from one false source of comfort to another — just to get through the day.  It’s how we stop the screaming, raging ache inside that is common to all men. ~ Molly Mosack

I can relate to that.  Sometimes when I’ve felt like there should be more to life, I’ve covered that up with things like eating, video games, sports, and humor.  That’s not to say those things are bad, because they’re not.  But we must be careful that we aren’t sedating our spiritual hunger with “junk food”.

If we aren’t careful, we won’t ever think about all that God wants to do in us and through us.  Do you know we’re supposed to be doing greater works than Jesus did?  Do you ever think about how many unsaved people there are, and that we should be doing a lot more to reach them?  Those are tough questions to chew on, because to act on them requires a very devout lifestyle, which probably means some change is needed.  It may be easier to just watch TV, even though it’s usually not very satisfying.  But we won’t have to look at our shortcomings, and we can just hope everything works out okay (if we even think that much about other people).

If you’re still reading, think on this: someday we will give an account to God for how we lived our life.  He has entrusted us with a mission, and He’s given us talents and gifts to accomplish His will, and He will examine what we did and didn’t do.  It will all be laid bare, and there will be no valid excuses.  I’m not trying to scare you with that, but that day is inevitable, so we would be wise to consider it.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

