making the most of time with family

24 03 2009

Sometimes we (unconsciously) assume that we and our family will keep living for a while longer, that things will continue going as they have been.  But the reality is that we never know how long we have or how long our loved ones have on this earth.

This past weekend, I went to a big birthday party for my granddad — it was his 90th.  Some of the people who put the party together joked that this is the kind of party for a 100th birthday, but that you never know.   Even though my granddad was in great health for his age, you never know.

The party was on Sunday, and I had thought about leaving immediately after it was over to get back in time for evening church service.   I don’t like to miss church.  I’m involved on the praise team, and it’s a great ministry, and it’s so awesome when God shows up.  So I rarely miss services.  But I thought that I don’t get to spend enough time with family, so I missed the evening service.  My uncle decided to have a fish fry at his house for the family, so we had an extended time of good fellowship.  I made it a point to spend some extra time with my granddad and to get a picture taken with him.

Now, I’m really thankful that I took that extra time to be with my family, because my granddad just passed away.  I’m very sad, of course, but it helps a lot that I got to spend some quality time with him before he graduated to Heaven.

My point is, we never know how long we have with our family, so we should make the most of our time.  Don’t take them for granted or assume that they will be around forever.   I realize we’re all incredibly busy these days, but let’s be sure to remind ourselves of what our priorities should be.

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 03 2009
Fab

Sorry to hear about your granddad, but I too am glad you got to see him on Sunday. I’m also glad to hear that he’s with Jesus on the other side. What a reunion there will be someday!

25 03 2009
Darian Ross

The Word says we’re not promised tomorrow. I have a 15 year old son and think what life would be like for him if he lost his dad. I have life insurance — accidental and regular. I know he’ll have enough money to make it through college and stuff like that. But, the loss of a family mmember doesn’t feel any better even when they have life insurance or whatever. Ever felt like your Granddad was looking down and smiling on you aftwards? When my dad passed I felt his peace come over me a few times.. and still even.

28 03 2009
Chad Lambert

Thanks for the comments. Knowing that my Granddad will be in Heaven really helps me deal with the pain. I’ve lost several family members over the years, but thankfully they all knew Jesus. We need to do all we can to make sure all our loved ones know Him before their time comes.

Darian, my dad passed away when I was a teenager, and it was the hardest thing I’ve ever went through. But that’s when I learned about the compassion and power of God, that He gave me peace and comfort during that time. I don’t know how I would’ve made it through without God. Even though my dad didn’t get to teach me all that I needed to learn, he taught me to turn to God, which has changed my life forever.

Leave a Reply

