How much are we thankful for?

25 11 2009

With Thanksgiving approaching, I’ve been thinking about ways to realize how much I should be thankful for instead of taking it for granted.  There are some things we usually don’t think about, like having good health, that we should be very thankful for.

This year I’m considering listing all the things I can think of that I’m thankful for.   It could take a while, but perhaps this could be done while on the road to visit family.  And during this time I don’t want to focus on the things that aren’t quite right — that is, no complaining or wishing.  For example, it’s easier to complain that we’d like a bigger house or a nicer house or to have more decorations, and those things aren’t necessarily bad to want, but sometimes we should be thankful for what we do have.   For almost all of us in America, we have much nicer accommodations than we actually need.  We may think we need another bedroom or more closet space, but that’s typically a want.

I could go on, but you can think of plenty of examples, I’m sure (and I hope you will).  The reason I’m considering listing them out (on my own) is to put it all in perspective.  It’s easy to say I’m thankful for all my blessings, but how much is that?  Am I really thankful for all of it?  If we realize there are hundreds of things to be thankful for, that helps us put our problems into perspective, that we have much more to be thankful for than to complain about (not that we should be complaining anyway).

I encourage you to take some time during the Thanksgiving break to think about all the things you should be thankful for.  That’s what the holiday is about, isn’t it?  You can do that and still have plenty of time for eating, visiting family, relaxing, hunting, watching football, etc.   I think you’ll be glad you took the time to be thankful.   I think God would enjoy it, too, if you say thanks to Him for all the good in your life.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

